12 September 2019

It is our pleasure to inform you that Mr Trent Zimmerman has announced a parliamentary inquiry into allergic diseases. The parliamentary inquiry will be undertaken by the Standing Committee on Health and will provide the opportunity for a thorough investigation into the many issues regarding the management of allergic diseases in Australia.

The National Allergy Strategy would like to acknowledge both Mr Trent Zimmerman and Minister Greg Hunt for their commitment to undertake the parliamentary inquiry and for their ongoing support of Australians living with allergic diseases.

Further information is available from:

National Allergy Strategy Steering Committee changes

At the recent ASCIA conference held in Perth, A/Prof Richard Loh stepped down as Co-chair of the National Allergy Strategy. Richard has been involved in the development and implementation of the National Allergy Strategy and Co-chair since the Steering Committee was established in 2014.

We have been very fortunate to have had Richard as a Co-chair. His passion and commitment to improving the health and well-being of Australians living with allergic diseases has greatly contributed to the success of the National Allergy Strategy. To acknowledge Richard and his valuable contribution to the National Allergy Strategy, the Steering Committee awarded Richard the title of Founding Patron of the National Allergy Strategy at the ASCIA conference last week.

Maria Said, A/Pro Richard Loh, Sandra Vale

While Richard is stepping down as Co-chair, he continues to be involved in the National Allergy Strategy as Project Lead on a number of projects.

Richard announced that he would be stepping down from the Co-chair position in September 2018, allowing the Steering Committee time to appoint a new Co-chair. Dr Preeti Joshi, the new Co-chair of the National Allergy Strategy, is a paediatric clinical immunology/allergy specialist. Preeti is a member of ASCIA Council, only recently stepping down from her role as the ASCIA Paediatric Committee Chair, and is also a member of the Allergy & Anaphylaxis Australia Medical Advisory Board. Preeti has also been actively involved in the National Allergy Strategy and is the Project Lead for the Nip allergies in the Bub project.

Preeti will work alongside Maria Said, continuing Co-chair, and the other Steering Committee members to continue to progress the National Allergy Strategy.

Sandra Vale, Dr Preeti Joshi, Maria Said

Further information about the National Allergy Strategy Steering Committee, Project Leads and projects is available from the website: www.nationalallergystrategy.org.au

Stay informed about the National Allergy Strategy

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram to stay informed or visit the National Allergy Strategy website: www.nationalallergystrategy.org.au